Music I Love

Posted on November 19, 2009

0


Inspired by the YA Highway topic: What are the songs that represent/influence your WIP(s)?

I wrote the first half of my manuscript to music, but for the second half, needed complete silence to make sure the puzzle pieces I’d set up would fit together. But there are definitely a few songs that embody the major “themes” of my WIP.

And, SHAZAM:

Fiona Apple: Paper Bag

“Hunger hurts, and I want him
So bad, oh it kills
‘Cause I know I’m a mess
He don’t wanna clean up,
I got to fold ’cause these hands are too shaky to hold,
Hunger hurts but starving works
When it costs too much to love.”

Then, of course, You Can’t Always Get What You Want, by the Rolling Stones:

You can’t always get what you want
But if you try sometimes, you might find
You get what you need

And finally, I Was Broken, Marcus Foster

Said I used to think the past was dead and gone
But I was wrong, so wrong
Whatever makes you blind must make you strong, make you strong
In my time I’ve melted into many forms
From the day that I was born, I know that there is no place to hide
Stuck between the burning shade and the fading light
I was broken for a long time
But it’s over now
Said I was broken for a long time
But it’s over now

Others songs:
Ruby’s Arms, Tom Waits
Warning Sign, Coldplay
I Will Follow You Into The Dark, Death Cab for Cutie
Hallelujah, Leonard Cohen/Jeff Buckley
Cyprus Avenue, Van Morrison
Night Terror, Laura Marling
Lunchbox, Marilyn Manson
Feel So High, Des’ree

And there you have it. What about you guys? Do you listen to music when you write? Read? What music turns you on?

Posted in: music