I love GONE and HUNGER by Michael Grant.

Posted on October 29, 2009

0


There have been discussions making the rounds on teh Internets about literary fiction vs. commercial, adults who read only mass market commercial YA and adults who read only Serious Books With Deep Themes.

Now, I love books. I love all books in a general way, and I’m going to brag and share that I own hundreds of books prominently displayed on fabulous built-ins. Neener neener.

My shelves include John Grisham and Franz Kafka, Madeline L’Engle and Phillip Roth. Giovanni Boccacio is right next to J.K. Rowling, and they share a shelf with Michael Crichton and Nathaniel Hawthorne.

But this post is about GONE and HUNGER, thought you? Well, yes. Yes it is.

I think I first heard about GONE when I noticed a comment by Michael Grant on someone’s blog (and it was great, and I wanted to know more about him), so I followed it to Grant’s blog, and then read a quote by Stephen King about his book on said blog. It’s about a group of 14-year-olds that find their little California town covered by an invisible dome; and all of the adults are gone. Disappeared. Vamoose(sp?).

The book is chilling; a modern day Lord of the Flies, if you will, with Stephen King mixed in. The pacing is so compelling that I read close to 600 pages in about eight hours, with only the most necessary breaks in between.

Is it “kid’s book?” Yes.

Is it a literary “kid’s book?” No.

But is it awesome?

Most definitely.

Look. I consider myself a relatively smart chick. I read Thought Provoking and Intellectually Stimulating Books, and I also read books that have no intellectual value simply for entertainment.

I think GONE, despite the spare prose, is actually one of the former. It’s hard to tell judging by the cover, and the book is written so tightly that it can seem like a guilty pleasure. But there are themes, and Grant doesn’t beat you over the head with them.

So there you go. That’s what I love today. Any of you have a favorite book (of the moment) to share?

Posted in: books